TIGA Awards 2016 Now Open for Entries, Could VR See a Win This Year?

    The TIGA Games Industry Awards are running for the fifth time, highlighting some of the best videogame creations. The registrations are now open for titles to be nominated across 35 categories. With virtual reality (VR) now available to consumers for the first time since the awards began, this could be the first year TIGA could award a prize to a VR title.

    Of the 35 award categories available, Best Audio Design, Best Visual Design, Most Original Game, Best Debut Game, Best Creative Gameplay and Game Of The Year are the six most hotly contested. The Game Of The Year category is voted for entirely by the public, with last year’s winner netting 30,000 individual votes.

    One VR title that will be nominated is The Assembly by British studio, nDreams. TIGA member and nDreams CEO Patrick O’Luanaigh will be entering the VR videogame into the TIGA Games Industry Awards 2016 with the hope of scooping the ceremonies first ever VR win.

    “We’re incredibly excited to be submitting our first major VR game, The Assembly, to the TIGA awards. We’re especially proud of the game’s innovative movement mechanics, which we custom built for VR so that players can freely explore the world of The Assembly as easily and as comfortably as in a standard first-person game,” said O’Luanaigh. “We’re also eager to show off all the amazing work we’ve done with positional audio and how it really brings the game’s story to life. Above all, it’s fantastic to see TIGA embracing the exciting changes in gaming that VR has brought and we look forward to seeing dedicated VR categories emerge in the not-too-distant future.”

    The 35 award categories are as follows:

    1. Best Action and Adventure Game
      2.     Best Arcade Game
      3.     Best Casual/Social Game
      4.     Best Educational Game
      5.     Best Racing Game
      6.     Best Sports Game
      7.     Best Strategy Game
      8.     Best Role Playing Game
      9.     Best Puzzle Game
      10.   Best Creative Gameplay
      11.   Best Debut Game
      12.   Diversity Award
      13.   Most Original Game
      14.   Best Audio Design
      15.   Best Visual Design
      16.   Best Game by a Small Studio
      17.   Best Art/Animation/Trailer Supplier
      18.   Best Audio Supplier
      19.   Best Education Initiative and Talent Development
      20.   Best Educational Institution
      21.   Best Independent Studio: large
      22.   Best Independent Studio: small
      23.   Best In-house Studio
      24.   Outstanding Leadership Award
      25.   Best Legal Services Supplier
      26.   Best Publisher
      27.   Best QA Provider
      28.   Best Recruitment Agency
      29.   Best Start Up
      30.   Best Tax and Accountancy Firm
      31.   UK Heritage Award
      32.   Best Engines, Middleware, Tools and Technology Award
      33.   Best Technical Innovation
      34.   Outstanding Individual Award
      35.   Game of the Year

    If you wish to enter a videogame into one of the above categories head to the TIGA Awards website. The closing date for entries is 23:59 GMT, 12th August 2016. VRFocus will continue its coverage of TIGA, reporting back with any further announcements.